Franskraal is a quaint seaside village with an awesome array of things to do. These range from outdoors excursions for those who want to savour the gorgeous countryside of the Western Cape, to art and craft outlets and pristine beaches.
The marked “Groot Melkhoutbos Trail” is open to the public. Some interesting birds and plants can be spotted here. Immediately at the cliffs of Franskraal is the Strandveld Museum, a little historical gem. It gives insight in the local history and has the largest collection of relics of the HMT Birkenhead that wrecked at Danger Point in 1852.
In 1881 Franskraal became part of farm Fairfield, stretching from the sea at Gansbaai to near Napier. Originally it was part of the farm Franschekraal. The whole area was owned by the van der Byl family.
In 1930 a number of businessmen from Johannesburg formed a syndicate lead by Mr Scharsberg and bought the sea facing portion of Franschekraal. 2000 hectare were bought for development purposes and included the camping grounds of Uilkraalsmond. Franskraal was also known as Frikkiesbaai, after Frederick Andrews who worked guano at Dyers Island. Sampson Dyer, the man associated with starting the guano industry on Dyers Island, had a shack at Franskraal in 1806.