Stormsvlei Stormsvlei in the early 1900s was a hub of
activities with many families living in the hamlet and surrounding area.
Apart from the Le Roux & Kennedy smithy, wagon-maker's shop and mill, there was also a school, church hall, the Stormsvlei General Dealer, a butchery, a post office, police station, garages, an inn and later a newly built hotel where dances were held once a month.
It is the Thomson's ambition to keep this unique settlement, with its well-preserved structures dating from the late 1700s up to the first half of the twentieth century, intact.
The town was originally settled as an outspan for ox-wagons that were travelling the inland route along the coast, a journey which started in 1740 when Governor Simon van der Stel instructed settlers to set up trade with the indigenous Khoi people who lived in the area. Many of these outspans were named after events that happened during these long and often arduous journeys with Stormsvlei translated as “storm marsh”.
Stormsvlei grew around the need for wagon repair facilities and refreshments for passing travellers, especially during the festive season when families from the surrounding areas would make their way to the sea for the holidays.